Tasks can sometimes become blocked due to external factors such as waiting for client feedback, missing dependencies, or other delays. These situations are categorised as "On Hold", "Stalled", or "Blocked".
- When a task can no longer move forward, it should be moved to the Backburner status.
- When moving items to the Backburner, leave a comment explaining why and noting it’s previous status (e.g., CR, Client Review) before the move.
- This status signals that the task is temporarily blocked and cannot proceed until the issue is resolved.
- Each task in the Backburner is reviewed during a Weekly Audit. At that point:
- If the task remains blocked and won't progress in the next three months, it's moved to the Backlog.
- If an action can unblock it, the task is moved back to To Do.
- If the task is no longer needed, it will be closed.
The Backburner ensures that blocked tasks are regularly reviewed and don't get forgotten.
Weekly Backburner Audit